Beer Impressions: Alameda Klickitat Pale Ale

Klickitat Pale Ale can be smelled immediately after entering this building.

Alameda Brewhouse is one of those local small distribution beers that you can find available on tap at local pizza restaurants. It isn’t uncommon to find a couple 22oz bottles sitting on the shelf at an area Grocery store, but they also tend to get a bit overlooked too. I’d probably point at them being one of the more underrated breweries in the Portland area. With big local brewery names like Widmer, Bridgeport, Rogue, Deschutes, Full Sail filling the shelves- it is easy to see how Alameda takes a backseat.

However, if you find yourself in North Portland, I’d highly recommend visiting this place for lunch or dinner. I’ve walked away highly impressed with the food every visit I’ve had there. Any fan of Fish & Chips will be happy with their offerings.

The Impression: Simple and hoppy. It doesn’t make me jump with excitement, but it’s a solid Pale Ale. If you focus, you can taste a little pine and a little citrus. Definite caramel malts in its foundation.

5 out of 8 Hop Clusters. It’s a an above average brew when compared to other Pale Ales. This will always be on my list of beers to order when I see it on tap. You Pale Ale lovers should reach for this when they see it. It probably won’t knock your socks off, but I think you’ll be pleased with the taste. A nice change of pace from the northwest go-to Pale Ale, Mirror Pond. It’s a bit lower on the hop level for most Pale Ales, but it is solid either way.

This entry was posted in Beer Impressions. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beer Impressions: Alameda Klickitat Pale Ale

  1. Tyler Long says:

    First, let me just point out that this is in Northeast Portland, not North Portland … the difference is huge, and mistaking the two can be insulting to some. I personally wouldn’t care if this weren’t less than a mile from my house, and I most definitely do not live in NoPo.

    Second, I’ve always found Alameda to be too expensive for what you get, both for food and drinks. I’ve only tried their IPA and a seasonal here and there (can’t remember any names), but they’ve always been underwhelming to me. The food is good, not great, but I always have sticker shock when I open the menu.

    It’s not all bad though, or I wouldn’t have been there several times. The location is nice, everything is good or slightly better than good, and it is usually less busy than the brewpubs with bigger names.

    • Joe S says:

      Fair enough points on both the area and price. But I’ve always been thrilled with what I have eaten there.

      • Tyler Long says:

        my opinion may have been swayed by the price … expensive food only tastes good to me when someone else is paying

      • Joe S says:

        Something I can understand. I also have been there three times, and maybe I just got lucky with my orders.

        Their IPA isn’t in the top 10 of what the city offers, but their “flagship” stout is terrific.

      • Joe S says:

        Also, you illustrate a wonderful point that i am writing another artical on. Which is regarding why I’m calling these impressions and not reviews.

Leave a Reply

